Montrose City Hall

APRIL 19, 2018

City of Montrose
Office of the City Manager
433 South First St.
Montrose CO, 81401

Contact: William Woody, Communications Manager
970.240.1439   |    |

Anderson Selected Mayor for 2018-2019, Bowman Selected Mayor Pro Tem

Montrose, CO — The City of Montrose has a new City Council and a new Mayor. Councilor Roy Anderson was chosen by fellow city councilors Tuesday evening, April 17, succeeding Judy Ann Files for the 2018-2019 mayoral term. Councilors Dave Bowman, Barbara Bynum, and Doug Glaspell were sworn in after emerging victorious in the April 3rd, municipal election. 

Additionally Dave Bowman was selected Mayor Pro Tem in front of dozens of residents and city staff in attendance. 

In 2014 Anderson, along with wife Sandi, traded the Front Range for the natural beauty around Montrose to retire after raising four children and a successful career at Hewlett Packard. Anderson began volunteering at the city's Downtown Visitor's Center where he developed a passion to serve and promote everything Montrose. 

In January 2015 Anderson was appointed to the city's planning commission where his curiosity for serving on the city council first began to grow. During that same year, and with the blessing of Sandi, Anderson ran for city council and was elected in spring 2016 to a four-year-term.

“It feels very humbling, and it’s a great honor and I’m excited to do this job and serve the citizens of Montrose,” Anderson said. 

Anderson thanked Files for her work as mayor over the past 12 months and mentioned a robust list of accomplishments during her tenure. Anderson gifted Files with a plaque, which recognized her as mayor for the 2017-2018 term. 

Files has two years remaining on her current city council term.  

Council member David Romero was also recognized for his service to the city council and his time as mayor during his four years on council. 

“I have worked with some really good people who I don’t even want to call city employees,” Romero told the audience. “They are more like family.” 

Romero said working on the city council was very rewarding and urged council members to continue the practice of civility and work together to find common solutions to problems that present themselves. Romero then walked out from the council chambers to a standing ovation. 

City Manager Bill Bell welcomed the new council stating he was grateful to work along side them making policy and shaping the future of Montrose. 

“I’m looking forward to the next 12 months,” Bell said.

Bowman and Glaspell were each elected to four-year terms. Bynum is elected to a two-year term holding the city’s At-Large seat. 

# # #


About the City of Montrose 

For information, visit  Follow the city on Facebook ( and Twitter (@montrosegov).  City Hall is located in downtown Montrose at 433 South First Street and may be reached at 970-240-1400. Hours of operation are Monday-Thursday, 7 a.m. – 6 p.m.

Anderson will serve as mayor for 2018-2019.
City Clerk Lisa DelPiccolo, left, swears in Dave Bowman, Barbara Bynum, and Doug Glaspell.
Powered by CivicSend - A product of CivicPlus